Skip to main content

NSO to kick off 2024 Europe tour in Switzerland

  • Date:2024-04-03~2024-04-13
NSO to kick off 2024 Europe tour in Switzerland

Led by its music director Jun Märkl, the National Symphony Orchestra (NSO) will embark on a European tour, spanning from Apr. 3 to 13. The tour concert will feature "Tao of Meinong (美濃之道)," a newly composed symphony blending Hakka culture, created by Taiwanese composer Li Yuan-chen (李元貞).


Inspired by Li Yuan-chen’s exploration of Hakka villages in the Meinong District of Kaohsiung City, "Tao of Meinong" seeks to showcase the unique Hakka culture through music. Through her observation, Li Yuan-chen depicts Meinong people’s deep affection for their hometown in her 15-minute symphony.


The NSO will present seven performances across Switzerland, Germany, and France, with timeless masterpieces including Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1 and Dvorák’s Symphony No. 8, aside from Li Yuan-chen’s “Tao of Meinong.” The debut performance is scheduled to take place at the Tonhalle Zürich on Apr. 3.


For more information, please refer to the NSO’s website.