Skip to main content

Winners of Golden Indie Music Awards honored at ceremony at Taipei Music Center

  • Date:2020-11-01
Winners of Golden Indie Music Awards honored at ceremony at Taipei Music Center

The 11th Golden Indie Music Awards ceremony was held on Oct. 31 at Taipei Music Center, celebrating and recognizing outstanding music artists who write and produce their own music across various genres including folk, rock, hip hop, and more. Singer J.Sheon and rock band "Future After A Second (FAAS)" were the biggest winners, each taking home three awards.

Best Hip Hop Song award went to singer J.Sheon's "Razor (剃刀)," whose album "The Alley (巷子內)" also garnered the award for Best R&B Album and R&B song "Ballad" won the Best R&B Song award. J.Sheon remarked that he really hopes more inspiring artists will fearlessly explore creating R&B music, as it is becoming more mainstream and acceptable in Taiwan.

Taiwanese metal band "Future After A Second (FAAS)" won Best Rock Song award for "Invert," and Best Rock Album award for album "OFiN." It was also a big night for FAAS's guitarist Nicky Li (李秉諺), who took away the Best Musician award. FAAS expressed their happiness for receiving the award and also called out for more year-end party performance invitations.

Best Album award was taken home by indigenous singer Abao (阿爆) and her album "kinakaian / Mother Tongue (母親的舌頭)." Abao is a member of the Paiwan tribe and the lyrics in her songs are written in Paiwan language, her mother tongue. Abao remarked it was really extraordinary to receive the award, and thanked the judges for awarding an album in Paiwan language.

Outstanding Contribution Award was awarded to Yujing Peng, founder and owner of Witch House, a Taipei music venue and incubator of indie bands. Open since 1995, many established indie singers and bands got their start at Witch House. Peng emphasized she simply wanted to do a good job and wanted to thank her family, musicians, customers, and landlady for all their support to make Witch House happen. "Witch House doesn't just belong to me, it belongs to all the singers and bands and guests. This award belongs to all of us," she added, ending with lifting up a banner with the words "No one is an outsider."