Skip to main content

Golden Horse Awards


  • Chinese Name:「金馬獎」
  • Year of Establishment:1962
  • Site:
  • Facebook: TGHFF
  • Twitter: @Golden_Horse
  • Behind the Name:The Golden Horse Awards are named after Taiwan's two outlying islands — Kinmen and Matsu, whose names literally mean"Golden Gate” and "Ancestral Horse.”

The Golden Horse Awards, the oldest of their kind in the Chinese-speaking community, were founded in 1962 with the aim of promoting film production in Taiwan and recognizing outstanding Taiwanese films and filmmakers. The awards were later expanded to accept all Chinese-language submissions from other parts of the world, such as Hong Kong, China, Canada and the United States.

Organized by the Government Information Office under the Executive Yuan (now merged into the Ministry of Culture), the first Golden Horse Awards ceremony was held on Oct. 31, 1962.

Since 1979, the annual film awards has experimented with new looks and policies to upgrade the quality of the awards. These included registration for the competition via the original film distributors, a two-stage process for selecting the winners, and inviting such international superstars as Elizabeth Taylor as award presenters.

In 1990, the organization of the Golden Horse Awards was transferred from the Government Information Office to the Motion Picture Development Foundation, a non-government organization, and the Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival Executive Committee was established under its authority.

The Golden Horse Awards are also one of the four major Chinese-language film awards, alongside the Hong Kong Film Awards and China-based Golden Rooster Awards and Hundred Flowers Awards.

Awards Category

  • Best Feature Film
  • Best Short Film
  • Best Documentary
  • Best Animation Feature
  • Best Director
  • Best New Director
  • Best Leading Actor
  • Best Leading Actress
  • Best Supporting Actor
  • Best Supporting Actress
  • Best New Performer
  • Best Original Screenplay
  • Best Adapted Screenplay
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Visual Effects
  • Best Art Direction
  • Best Makeup and Costume Design
  • Best Action Choreography
  • Best Original Film Score
  • Best Original Film Song
  • Best Film Editing
  • Best Sound Effects
  • Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year
  • Audience-voted Best Film
  • Fipresci (International Federation of Film Critics) Prize (selected by a panel of international film critics)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (voted by the executive committee of individual film associations)

2018 Promo Video